Dufner leads rain-delayed Canadian Open
OAKVILLE, Ontario (AP) -Jason Dufner played six holes in 1 under Sunday to top the Canadian Open leaderboard before third-round play was washed out because of more heavy rain and lightning.
Dufner, the second-round leader after rounds of 68 and 63 on the saturated Glen Abbey course, had a one-stroke lead over Anthony Kim and Jerry Kelly. Kim was 4 under after nine holes Sunday, and Kelly was 1 under through six.
The players are scheduled to resume play at 7:30 a.m. Monday, the first time the tournament has gone past the weekend since 1988. PGA Tour officials still hope to complete four rounds in the event drenched by about 5 inches of rain in four days.
Play began Sunday morning in sunny conditions, but lightning forced the players off the course at 10:15 a.m. After another round of lightning and heavy rain and hours trying to get the layout in shape to resume, play was called for the day at 4:25 p.m.
Scott Verplank was two strokes back at 12 under along with Retief Goosen, Bob Estes, Peter Tomasulo and Michael Letzig. Verplank, the 2001 winner at Royal Montreal, tied for second behind Ken Green in the 1988 Monday finish at Glen Abbey,
Mike Weir, trying to become the first Canadian winner since Pat Fletcher in 1954, had a hole-in-one on the fourth hole and was 9 under overall with seven holes left in his round. The ace was the seventh of the week, the most since the tour began keeping extensive records in 1971. There were five in the 2004 John Deere Classic.
Weir also was the center of a confusing rules decision involving his second shot on the 18th hole Saturday in the second round.
Weir's ball moved before he played the shot, but he was unsure whether he had addressed the ball or caused it to move. After calling for a ruling, he replaced the ball in its original location and took a one-stroke penalty.
Before Weir signed his scorecard, the penalty stroke was rescinded after he and the rules committee reviewed video and determined it was inconclusive whether he caused the ball to move. On Sunday, additional video was reviewed, and Weir again assessed himself a one-stroke penalty for his causing the ball to move, even though it was still inconclusive whether he had addressed the ball.
Weir used a 4-iron to ace the 200-yard fourth hole.
Return to Latest News archives